Deacon Nominating Committee Announcement

The Deacon Nominating Committee invites all church members to suggest names for consideration as possible nominees to the Diaconate. The Deacon Nominating Committee met and agreed to examine the nominees carefully with regard to the Scripture references found in the Rules of Church Order: John 13:1-15 and the description by Paul in Romans 12:1-18.

The committee has agreed on additional selection criteria and gives notice of these selection criteria listed below:

  • Members of the Deacon Nominating Committee and their spouses, church staff or spouses of full-time (per Personnel Policies) church staff are ineligible for consideration as nominees.
  • Nominees with several years of church membership and areas of committed/committee service will be given preference.
  • Nominees will be balanced in such a way that the diversity of the Diaconate will fairly represent the diversity of the congregation.
  • Nominees should have consistent records of supporting the budget of the church.

Please submit your nominees, including their qualifications, to Jenna Manning ( by Sunday, July 19. The nomination can also be submitted by signed letter.

Members of the committee include: Jeanette Cothran, Greg Crowe (chair-elect), Susan Dodson, Pam Jones, Mike Kellett, Freda Lark (chair), Charles McDonald, Henry Watkins and Jamie Womack.


Rules of Church Order Update

The Rules of Church Order Committee has been appointed and is working on changes to update the RCO to reflect our congregation’s current practices and to address recommended changes that are approved by the Diaconate. If you have any comments for the RCO Committee, please contact any member of the committee to share your concern or question. The RCO Committee members are Pat Booker-Christy, Duke McCall, Tony McDade, Laurin McDonald, Ben Mullinax and Bert Strange.